Jesus, Please take care of Mama. I’m So Sorry I didn’t Find Time To Call!

Friday December 14, 2012 started out just like any other day. I woke around 5:00am to get ready for work, made a fresh pot of coffee and had breakfast. About 5:40am I left the house in my blue 2001 Chevy Silverado and headed to Wagner Drive where I would build seats for a well known car company. As the day progressed, shortly after 10:30am my phone rang. I quickly flipped the flap open on my phone case to see who it was and it said mom on the screen. For some strange reason I felt like something was wrong. I immediately sent up some 911 prayers asking Jesus to watch over my grandma Margaret. My grandma wasn’t sick and in the hospital or anything, but I always asked Jesus to watch over her because she was getting older. I know none of us are promised tomorrow. Mama, as I would call my grandma Margaret, would always tell me she was tired and didn’t feel well when we would speak on the phone. She always asked me to pray for her and her friend Toni Ashworth. I’ve prayed so many prayers over the years of my childhood and up to now for my grandma Margaret. I’ve never prayed for anyone as much as I have that woman! She was my grandma and I was her favorite! I say this jokingly, but if you ask anyone in my family back in West Virginia, they will all say that I was her favorite! Lol. Because I was at work on the assembly line, I couldn’t answer my phone. I figured I would just call my mom back when I went to lunch at 11:00am. A few minutes later, my Aunt Carolyn who also works at the same place I do walked up to me and said, “your grandma Judy just called me and said your mom called her.” By now I knew this was serious! Something had happened and my world was about to be permenatly altered forever. So many thoughts went racing through my mind and I just knew it was either my grandma Margaret or my dad’s heart aneurism had ruptured. Then my Aunt Carolyn said it and I thought I was going to hit the floor. I felt my legs go numb and my body began to shake as she told me my grandma Margaret had passed away! For what seemed like an eternity, but was really only about 5 seconds, my world came crashing down all around me! For a few minutes I found it hard to breathe as I gasped for air. It’s still hard for me to even talk about her passing. It just hurts too bad! I loved her so much! All at once, it seemed as though every memory I had of my grandma Margaret had just ran through my mind as my Aunt Carolyn told me of her passing. Tears filled my eyes and I couldn’t even see straight. I couldn’t talk or hardly even move! What really hurt was the fact that within two days on December 16th, she would have celebrated her 77th birthday! What hurt more was that I hadn’t spoken with her since my surprise visit a month earlier at Thanksgiving. However, what really destroyed me and paralyzed me was when I made it in town for her funeral. That’s when my parents told me she kept asking for me and wondering when I was going to call her, but I never did! Then with tears in my eyes I asked my dad, “Why didn’t she call me?” “She could have called me anytime!” I cried. Then my dad said, “she tried calling you but couldn’t ever get though.”  My phone had been messed up. I’ve shed so many tears thinking about this and I wonder if she ever left a message on my voice mail. I have a new phone now and a new phone number. The old phone’s screen was busted, so I couldn’t ever see to check my voice mail! The thought that still haunts my spirit is that I’ll never know if she left me a message, and if she did, what did she say? I still have a hard time dealing with this and I always ask and say “Jesus, please take care of mama and tell her I love her!” “ImageI’m sorry I didn’t find time to call and I love you!” 

About natefortner

I Currently live in Boaz, Alabama where I'm actively engaged in ministry. I'm the owner of Whosoever Press Publishing company. I enjoy traveling and speaking to groups and churches of all sizes! These blog posts are all based on true events!!!
This entry was posted in Christian. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

