Worship From A Lincoln At Midnight!

One day John asked me, “Why do you go to Church all the time?” My answer was simple! “I love Jesus and I want to go to heaven when I die!” I said. I could tell John was very curious of the Bible and wanted to know more. Over the coming weeks he asked me many questions dealing with the Bible and Jesus. He even told me that one night he sat on his front porch looking into the sky praying and a shooting star flew across the sky.

After John’s experience that night, we began speaking more and more about the Bible until one day I mentioned to him that he had to have faith. He had questioned from time to time how a young teenage boy like me could have such confidence in something I couldn’t see. I simply told him that faith is to believe in something you can’t see! “John you have to let Jesus see your faith” I would say. I continued to explain that even though we can’t see the wind, we can see the affects of the wind. I told him that it’s the same way with Jesus. You can’t see Him, but you can see when He shows up and affects the atmosphere!

At that moment John began to tear up and said, “No one’s ever told me that before!” I then explained what it meant to be saved and asked John if he would like to have the same confidence that I had and he said YES! Then I introduced John to Jesus! Man, what an awesome Holy Ghost experience it truly was! There was an instant change in the old man’s heart!

After John got saved that day he wanted to hear some good gospel singing. He had so much praise to give to Jesus! Week after week I would carry my cassette tape player to his house and we would listen to the Spencers all day long. There was one song John already knew on that tape and we would both just bust out singing every time it rolled around. John, with his deep Bass voice would start,” Daddy sang bass.” Then I would hit “Mama sang tenor”, and then we would both sing “Me and little brother would join right in there.”  We would sing and laugh like no one’s ever seen before. John liked the tape so much that he asked me to make him a copy. We had such great times together. I miss John very much!

A few weeks later I was spending the night with my Grandma Margaret just like I did every weekend. Now remember John just lived up the hill from my Grandma. While I was sleeping on my Grandma’s couch, my Uncle Harry Lee who I called River Rat came in off the back porch and woke me up.  He said, “Hey, come out here a minute!” “Something’s going on with your friend John up the hill” he said.  When I walked out on the back porch I just started laughing hysterically and couldn’t hardly control myself! I felt like dancing all over that back porch! It was past midnight and John was sitting out in his blue Lincoln Town car in his driveway blasting that tape of the Spencers I made for him!

I know Heaven was meeting earth as Jesus had showed up right there and affected the atmosphere for John Luther!

Image

About natefortner

I Currently live in Boaz, Alabama where I'm actively engaged in ministry. I'm the owner of Whosoever Press Publishing company. I enjoy traveling and speaking to groups and churches of all sizes! These blog posts are all based on true events!!!
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Worship From A Lincoln At Midnight!

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SOME “LIGHT READING” FROM ONE OF MY LIEBSTER AWARD NOMINEES!!!!

Leave a Reply

