I’m Proud of You Son!

So I wrote a book a few year back called “Teaching Christians To Pray The Bible Way.” I had always wanted to write a book growing up, but didn’t know what to write about or where to start. I tried putting together a small book of Bible facts, and I started the publishing process, but never finished it. Eventually, I heard a TV Preacher say one day that any young minister going into the ministry should pick one topic in the Bible to minister on and master that topic! For example, John Hagee Preaches on Israel, Mike Murdock preaches on the $58.00 seed, and other preachers have their main topics to preach. I thought well, I’m the world’s worst at prayer, so why don’t I become a minister of prayer.

I studied everything I could get my hands on dealing with prayer over the coming months, and so I started compiling ideas and thoughts. Over the next three years, I began writing a book that started out being called “My Personal Prayer Journal.” After much thought, I decided to change the name to “Teaching Christians To Pray The Bible Way.” This title came to me because about a year earlier, I had preached a sermon at Church titled “Searching For Lost Souls and Teaching Christians To Pray The Bible Way.” The title was perfect! I began to type everything out on my computer getting it prepared to be published. I didn’t know anything about being published or being an author. In fact, I never saw myself as an author! Authors were celebrities to me, and I was no celebrity!

I had told a few close friends of mine that I was working on a book, and that I wanted to try and get it published. Many of them thought I was crazy, and would fail at any attempt to write a book. Those so called friends were very open with their certainty of my upcoming failure! While some friends were supportive to an extent as long as I didn’t write about them in my book. It’s interesting to me that people have always found me to be someone who sets my mind on what I want, and then I chase it until it happens. This is absolutely true, but what truly baffles my mind is that most of them don’t support me in my efforts to fulfill my dreams. It’s quite the contrary! Many of them began to ridicule me when I had finished the book and started looking for a Publisher, saying that no one would ever want anything I had written. Yes, I realized what great friends I truly had. When the book came out on May 10, 2012, my friends were shocked to see that I had really taken this idiotic idea this far. I even had one guy ask me, “Who do you think you are?” in a mean hateful attitude. He continued to downgrade me saying, “Anyone can put words on paper and call it a book!” Wait until I get done with my book!” he proclaimed.

Now I have to be the first to admit that I’m not the greatest writer in the world. I’ve never claimed to hold that title. I’m not the best singer in the world, and I’m certainly not the best preacher in the world, but I know who I am in Jesus! I am confident of the call of Christ upon my life, and every day I wake from my sleep means He’s got a divine appointment for me to minister in His name! It’s not about me, my books, my CD’s, or my singing! I’m not trying to attain celebrity status! It’s all about Jesus and making Him known! It’s about making Jesus famous among the people in my life! When I stand before Jesus face to face, I want to hear Him say, “Well done! I’m proud of you son!”

 

About natefortner

I Currently live in Boaz, Alabama where I'm actively engaged in ministry. I'm the owner of Whosoever Press Publishing company. I enjoy traveling and speaking to groups and churches of all sizes! These blog posts are all based on true events!!!
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

