Hurt in Church? Jesus was too!

So you’ve been hurt in church before huh? Yeah, I know how you feel. I’ve been hurt in church before too. It’s amazing to me how church people can be so rude and cruel! They’re supposed to be holy and perfect right? Yeah, I don’t think so! Church people are some of the most despicable people I’ve ever met!

It’s crazy, but I have to admit, church people aren’t perfect! Many of them like to think they are, but they’re sadly mistaken! The fact is, church people aren’t necessarily Christians. I mean, come on! If you know anything about the Bible or ever even heard of one of the Bible stories of Jesus, then you know right now that you’ve never met anyone who is as good as Jesus. Amen?

To be a Christian means to be Christ-Like. I don’t know anyone who is that good! Just sayin. Okay, so just because you go to church on Sunday doesn’t mean you’re a Christian. For the record, no Christian is perfect, but how do you even become a Christian? If going to a Christian Church doesn’t make you a Christian, then what does? Why would someone even want to be a Christian?

To be a Christian, you must make up in your heart that you’re going to live for Jesus. However, to actually be called a Christian, you must be what Christians call getting saved or born again. That simply boils down to praying to God and asking Him to forgive you of your sins, or in other words, the bad things you’ve done. You must confess to Him that you acknowledge you are a sinner, and believe that He sent His Son Jesus to the earth to live as a man. You must believe that Jesus died on the cross to blot out your sins. If you can do that, read and study your Bible as often as possible, you are a Christian. Now you will need to find a good Christian Bible believing church to get involved in so you can fellowship with other Christians and grow in your faith.

Many church people have never accepted Christ as their Savior. They’re just religious, and that won’t get you to heaven. I’m going to tell you now, at some point in your Christian walk, you will probably be hurt by someone in the Church. I’m sorry and I hate to say that, but the truth is the truth. I’ve been hurt multiple times by not just church people, but Christians. How do we overcome this type of disappointment? Why would someone try to hurt us? Isn’t a Christian supposed to be Christ-Like?

Let me share some of the Bible with you real quick. I’m sure you know that Jesus was crucified on a cross publicly after He was beaten beyond recognition. Before His death, Jesus was nearly taken multiple other times, but He made His way out of sight of His attackers. The Religious leaders in the Temple were out to get Jesus! They wanted Him stopped! In other words, Jesus was being hurt by people in the religious organization. That’s kind of like when we’re hurt in the church. The difference though is many times when a Christian is hurt by someone in the church, that person ends up leaving the church. They use that as an excuse to detach themselves from the church sometime for years, and in some cases for the rest of their life. Jesus amazes me as to how He reacts to being hurt by the religious leaders. He still shows up in the Temple every time the doors are open. Wow! What in the world was He thinking? Why would He still go into the Temple knowing the people inside didn’t like Him?

In my life, I’ve realized after being hurt so many times, that if I were to skip church every time, I’d probably never go back. I’ve learned that my relationship with Jesus needs to be stronger then just words, and the opinions of others shouldn’t matter. When Jesus was hurt, He still went to the Temple to worship. We should follow His example and realize we’re there to worship Him.

Also remember that there’s only one difference between a Christian and a non-Christian. A Christian knows Jesus and loves Him. A non-Christian has more than likely heard of Jesus, but they don’t truly know Him. As a Christian, it’s your job to introduce them to the real Jesus.

To the person who has been hurt in the church, I’m sorry! Jesus still loves you. Just don’t let what or who hurt you keep you from God’s presence. Are you truly living a life that’s pleasing to God?

Jesus loves you!

Learn more about Nate Fortner at: www.NateFortner.com

About natefortner

I Currently live in Boaz, Alabama where I'm actively engaged in ministry. I'm the owner of Whosoever Press Publishing company. I enjoy traveling and speaking to groups and churches of all sizes! These blog posts are all based on true events!!!
This entry was posted in Christian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hurt in Church? Jesus was too!

  1. nikeyo says:

    Most people I have met who have been hurt by a church don’t quite go full Atheist/mon-Christian. Just angry and hurt.

    Curious as to where you read of “Jesus going to temple every time the door open” though? From what I read, he preferred the wilderness and solitutde to do his worship. Unless, of course, it was for a ritual sacrifice or scroll reading.

    • natefortner says:

      Thanks for commenting! I agree with you as to the fact that everyone who has ever been hurt in the church doesn’t turn to Atheism or become non-Christian. It does hurt when you get hurt though. The point I’m trying to make with this post is that even though we get hurt sometimes, it’s no reason to quit going to church like some people do. I’ve learned from past experiences that everyone has an opinion and their own feelings on how something should be handled. When I feel that someone has hurt me, I make it a point to pray for them. It would be wrong of me as a Christian not to pray for them. They may have just been having a bad day, and I happened to be the one there at the moment. Anyway, to answer your question about where do I read about Jesus being in the temple all the time. Luke 21:37 clearly states that Jesus was a teacher in the temple daily. In the evenings He would go out to be alone. Matthew 26:55 tells us of where Jesus was praying in the Garden of Gethsemane when the mob comes for Him. The verse reads as follows: “In that same hour said Jesus to the multitudes, Are you come out as against a thief with swords and staves for to take me? I sat daily with you teaching in the temple, and ye laid no hold on me.” Also, Luke 20:1-8 shows more of how the Pharisee’s and Sadducees questioned Jesus’ authority to preach the message of the Gospel. John 18:19-24 also shows another time where the religious leaders were harassing Jesus for His teaching and then one of the officers even smacked Jesus in the face.

      Thanks for your comment! I hope this helps to answer your question! God Bless!

      • nikeyo says:

        Agreed. However, one does not return to the fire. Burned once, twice, maybe. The church is flawed. Many burned rationalize no reason for returning. Worship and teaching can be found independently. Especially nowadays.

        Jesus teaching in temple seems a little bit of a stretch for what you are trying to say. Don’t you think? Teaching is different than placing oneself under a teacher.

        Answering questions are best done in conversation. I’m more discussing your topic than questioning for answers. 🙂 But I love that you responded back! Very cool.

Leave a Reply

